ⓘ Czech Republic in the Eurovision Song Contest 2020. Czech Republic originally planned participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 with the song Kemama perfo ..


ⓘ Czech Republic in the Eurovision Song Contest 2020

Czech Republic originally planned participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 with the song Kemama performed by Benny Cristo. Czech broadcaster Česka televize organised a national final in order to select the Czech entry for the 2020 contest in Rotterdam, the Netherlands. However, the contest was cancelled due to the 2019–20 coronavirus pandemic.


1. Background

Prior to the 2020 Contest, the Czech Republic had participated in the Eurovision Song Contest eight times since its first entry in 2007. The nation competed in the contest on three consecutive occasions between 2007 and 2009 without qualifying to the final: in 2007 Kabat performing "Mala dama" placed 28th last in the semi-final achieving only one point, in 2008 Tereza Kerndlova performing "Have Some Fun" placed 18th second to last in her semi-final scoring nine points, in 2009 performing the song "Aven Romale" placed 18th last in their semi-final failing to score any points. The Czech broadcaster withdrew from the contest between 2010 and 2014 citing reasons such as low viewing figures and poor results for their absence. In 2015, the Czech Republic returned to the contest and once again failed to qualify to the final with the song "Hope Never Dies" performed by Marta Jandova and Vaclav Noid Barta, placing 13th in their semi-final with 33 points. In 2016, the Czech Republic was represented by Gabriela Guncikova and the song "I Stand". The country qualified for the final and placed 25th out of 26 entries. This marked the first qualification to the final for the Czech Republic since they debuted in the contest in 2007. In 2018, the Czech Republic was represented by Mikolas Josef with the song "Lie to Me". The song finished in sixth place with 281 points, achieving their highest finish in the contest and their first appearance in the top ten. In 2019, the Czech Republic was represented by Lake Malawi with the song "Friend of a Friend". The song placed on eleventh place with 157 points, achieving their second best result in the contest.


2.1. Before Eurovision Eurovision Song CZ

Eurovision Song CZ was the national selection process organised by ČT to select the Czech Republics entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2020. The winner was revealed on 3 February 2020.


2.2. Before Eurovision Format

The winner was determined from among seven competing entries by the combination of votes from a public vote and a ten-member international jury panel. For the public vote, users were able to vote for the winner from 20 January 2020 to 2 February 2020 via the official Eurovision Song Contest app. Both international and Czech users were able to vote. International votes had the same weight as the international jurors. The international jury panel consisted of ten former Eurovision entrants.

  • Stig Rasta – represented Estonia in 2015 with Elina Born and wrote the 2016 and 2019 Estonian entries
  • Kasia Mos – represented Poland in 2017
  • Kristian Kostov – represented Bulgaria in 2017
  • KEiiNO – represented Norway in 2019
  • Michela Pace – represented Malta in 2019
  • Katerine Duska – represented Greece in 2019
  • Isaiah Firebrace – represented Australia in 2017
  • Sebastian Rejman – represented Finland in 2019 with Darude
  • Zalagasper – represented Slovenia in 2019
  • Miki Nuñez – represented Spain in 2019


2.3. Before Eurovision Competing entries

Česka televize received 152 song submissions for the Eurovision Song Contest, of which 72 were by Czech musicians. The seven selected finalists were announced on 13 January 2020 at a press conference, and the entries were presented to the public on 20 January 2020.


3. At Eurovision

According to Eurovision rules, all nations with the exceptions of the host country and the "Big 5" are required to qualify from one of two semi-finals in order to compete for the final; the top ten countries from each semi-final progress to the final. The European Broadcasting Union EBU split up the competing countries into six different pots based on voting patterns from previous contests, with countries with favourable voting histories put into the same pot. On 28 January 2020, a special allocation draw was held which placed each country into one of the two semi-finals, as well as which half of the show they would perform in. Czech Republic was placed into the second semi-final, to be held on 14 May 2020, and was scheduled to perform in the first half of the show. However, due to 2019-20 pandemic of Coronavirus, the contest was cancelled.

Users also searched: